french revolutions

We're making the move back to France to open the best b&b in la france profonde

100 Years – 100 Tales from the Tour

Leave a comment

UPDATE: 100 Tours 100 Tales now has its own blog! Find my tales from the Tours at 100tours100tales.wordpress.com

I love Gerard Holtz in a totally guilty pleasures way – his spiky grey badger cut and cheeky grin has enlivened many an edition of Velo Club for me over the years. And now he’s beaten me to it, releasing Les 100 histoires de légende du Tour de France which is obviously topping my ‘must read’ list.

Except that my 100 Tales will be quite different, I’m sure – for example, I’m currently obsessed by the fine facial hair sported by those magnificent coureurs who undertook the first Tour in 1903, pedalling off into the unknown.

So my Tales from the Tour will be a very personal take on le grand boucle – personal anecdotes (from the 80s onwards, obviously ;)), things that strike me as amusing/stupid/of some interest, quotes and images. I hope you’ll enjoy my insights and that some of them at least are things that make you say ‘well, I never knew that’ in an amused/bemused way. I know many of you are greater historians & statisticians than I could ever hope to be but that my take will at least add to your understanding and enjoyment of what remains – for good or ill – the greatest cycling race in the world.

Stay tuned for my tales from the first 10 years – les jours de gloire – when France still ruled the wheels and the Tour moved from its infancy as a promotional device to the behemoth it is today.

 

Leave a Reply

